In the Golden State, whether you’re in NorCal or SoCal, evidence of automobile financial responsibility is required on any vehicle operated or parked on California roadways. This evidence must be carried in your vehicle at all times and must be provided when, requested by law enforcement, renewing your vehicle registration or if your vehicle is involved in a traffic collision.
Here are some examples of financial responsibility:
- A cash deposit of $35,000 with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- A DMV issued self-insurance certificate
- A surety bond for $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California
- Or the most common – a California Auto Insurance policy
When providing a California auto insurance policy as your evidence of financial responsibility, the minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles are:
- $15,000 for injury/death to one person
- $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
- $5,000 for damage to property
This is what “15 – 30 & 5” means. In many cases, these limits, as they are commonly called, may be adequate enough to protect your personal assets, while also meeting the State of California’s financial responsibility requirement for private passenger vehicles.
Here at the J. Morey Company, we can assist in all aspects of securing California auto insurance coverage for your personal vehicle, while also providing that peace of mind you need when you’re out on the road.
Curious if you’re overpaying for your car insurance? Give us a try: Start a free car insurance quote now!